The Upside: It’s Now Husband’s Idea to Get a New Helmet!

Yep:

Fall

I even put it in slow-mo for you guys. You’re welcome.

And to think, I told my husband to keep my XC vest in the cart because, “I didn’t need it for SJ.”

giphy.gif

Now that that’s out of the way, I do have to say that even with my most spectacular fail, I had a blast this weekend. And learned a lot. But most importantly, I got to test out my newly upgraded horse trailer! And it was heaven.

It almost wasn’t done in time, because they received the wrong awning, but Shetron pulled through and I picked it up Friday morning. It’s awesome. The new awning is teal (perfect) and you literally just flick a switch and it extends out, then you can manually adjust if you want to account for shade or rain. Then when you’re done, you flip the switch again and it rolls back up under an aluminum cover so no more rips if you go under a tree!

P12

Of course my favorite modification is the AC in the dressing room. I had a 30 amp RV hookup installed in it, so we pulled into the RV camp spot and hooked up and instantly had AC. There are also 2 regular outlets in there next to the saddle racks for phone chargers, etc. Spectacular.

P15

 

The 3 year old and I slept in the GN- he had the air mattress with the sides and I had the sleeping pads, and then husband and the 9 year old slept in this bad boy:

And we brought an extension cord with us, so they had a fan in there and neither had any complaints.

Husband bought a little charcoal grill from Walmart and on Friday night we cooked hot dogs, grilled cheese, asparagus and roasted marshmallows. Perfect horse show food.

P14

We also were able to successfully use the 2 room changing tent with the solar shower.

P13

The other modification I had done to it was to extend the hinge on the back window on the awning side so that it could close. I’ve hauled P with the back windows open 3x now and all 3x he’s arrived at our destination with nary a drop of sweat on him. So another huge win for Shetron Custom Trailers!

P loved his stall at the Carolina Horse Park- those things were HUGE. And since it was a horse show, the Likit came out. He goes through one of those in a matter of hours so he only gets them for shows.

 

P9.jpg

Still going at it

 

We also rented a golf cart for the first time since the RV camp was across the road from the barns, and the grounds were huge.

P2

Best $200 I’ve ever spent- the kids had a blast and it was super easy to get everything back and forth from the barns and my trailer since I didn’t get a tack stall. I just loaded everything up in my cart (that’s another of my favorite horse show purchases), then held onto it from the back of the golf cart.

P19.jpg

The other genius thing I did was bring my hammock, with the intent of putting it in the horse area of the horse trailer. But then I saw someone else hang theirs in front of their stall, so I made husband rig mine up there also. And it was perfect. I spent pretty much all day Saturday swinging in that thing in front of P’s stall.

P22.jpg

Friday we got to the horse park around 5 PM, so by the time everything was set up for us and P, it was too late to ride. So I hand walked him around, and we got over our fear of water meter signs while also investigating every trash can around each of the barns.

P16

This was a schooling HT, where you could school each of the phases on Saturday. I was invited to a clinic with a local eventer that was being put on by the Area II Young Riders program, so I signed up for it because it included schooling on Saturday, course walks and coaching for the HT on Sunday. Since a grounds person was required and my husband had the kids, it was perfect for me to join. And I was even more glad when I went out and walked XC on Friday.

When I signed up for BN, especially a schooling one, I had visions of log piles, coops…everything made to BN specifications and jumps that made for a positive course.

Not this one.

One of the sessions for the clinic was on course design, and we literally took a ruler and level out to measure the jumps. Many were technically Novice fences either in height or width, and the actual track and terrain made the course more suitable for horses with more experience. If I had seen the course or jumps beforehand, I would’ve stayed home.

XC1

Jump 1 is what I expected. It was pretty much straight out of the start box, and easy.

XC2

Turning left after jump 1, jump 2 was considerably wider, but still shaped pretty invitingly. Plus, it was heading towards home so it supposedly rode well.

XC3XC4

 

Jump 3 was a small feeder that jumped downhill into the woods. So now the horses know they’re not actually going home, plus the landing point was an entire foot lower than the takeoff. The jump from takeoff measure 2’3″. The jump from the landing point measured 3’3″. That’s the maximum drop allowed in BN and we were only on the 3rd jump.

XC5XC6

 

Jump 4 was just dumb for a schooling BN. Not only was it actually bigger than 2’7″ (if I remember correctly, it measured 2’10”), it was wide, set next to a tree, so very shadowy, and it was painted in such a way that the horse couldn’t tell that it was actually a bench and not a more vertical jump until they were right on top of it. And set directly behind it was a Prelim jump with airy logs that the horses would be looking at. To me, it was the opposite of what I expected to see at a schooling BN horse trial. We’ve jumped both BN and Novice benches before, and this one was the biggest and weirdest designed one I’ve seen.

XC7XC8XC21

Jump 5 was also, in my opinion, inappropriate for BN. It was at the top of a hill, next to a cow jump (?) and not only was bigger than 2’7″ (I think this was 2’9″) it was also way too wide to be BN (52″ or 54″).

XC9XC10

Jump 6 was a combination with a bending line.

XC11

Jump 7 was just a water crossing.

XC12

Jump 8 went into the woods and was a replica of jump 6A.

XC13

Jump 9 was again, inappropriate for BN. It was 2″ too big, was 4″ too wide, and was another combination. The B element had another big drop on the landing side, then you continued down a steep hill.

XC14XC15XC16

 

Jumps 10 & 11 were what I actually expected for BN.

XC17XC18

And jump 12 was at the top of a hill, so you had to get a really good and balanced gallop up.

XC19XC20

I have to say I had a preconceived notion that this was going to be a pretty soft HT. And I couldn’t have been more wrong in every aspect, not just the XC course. When we arrived on Friday evening, there were maybe 50 stalls filled. Saturday morning, every stall was filled (all 192 of them), with tons of people showing out of their trailers. It was HUGE. There were just under 240 entries, not even including the non-compete horses that were just there to school. The atmosphere was bigger than at any show we’ve ever been to, but P seemed to be ok. I hand walked him a few times Saturday morning as well, and besides one spook when a cart came up behind him, he was calm. The BN group was scheduled to meet up with the clinician on XC at 12:45, so I got on at 12:20 to walk over there.

And it was terrible. Not terrible like, oh silly Pilgrim, terrible as in people were scattering because I couldn’t control him. He was wheeling around, bolting everywhere, super tense, and didn’t calm down once.

The clinician (poor woman) had us trot an x-rail like 10x because he wasn’t behaving in the slightest.

Then we went over to XC. Everyone else cantered jump 1, we trotted it. But he didn’t refuse, so I chalked it up to a win. He didn’t refuse jump 2 either, so again, another win. Then we went to the last jump and she said she’d rather not have us do this one so early on because he was still incredibly hard to control and the uphill approach wasn’t exactly conducive to trotting. So we watched everyone else go, then did jumps 10 and 11. 10 he didn’t give me any problems about, but 11 was slightly raised off the ground so he refused. She said he had a shitty attitude and has us try again. So we did and then he bolted off towards the group behind the jump. Ugh.

Then we went to jump 6, where we just did the A element. He refused again, but that one was more on me because at this point I was exhausted from just keeping myself in the saddle and I was really just over even riding him.

tumblr_n5bwl5VWDN1qj4315o1_500

He went through the water just fine, as I knew he would, then I followed a horse over jump 8. We skipped 9A, instead waiting for the others to go over…well, tried to. He spun in circles and bolted around. It was actually truly embarrassing and there were a few moments where I found myself feeling unsafe. I typically don’t feel unsafe on P, but he had now been uncontrollable for over an hour and I was soooo done with him. We were allowed to follow a horse over 9B, and he bolted down the hill, even sliding a bit, which did nothing for my nerves. All because the group was down there.

Then we were done with XC, and I opted to go to SJ for some assistance there. We did some warmup jumps and he was much more manageable. And no refusals. Even when she put the oxer up and spread it out, which by then Cambox had had enough and said goodnight.

And from my husband’s POV (child issues included):

Then we went into the Maiden/Green Bean field and did their course. The line for the BN one was really long and she thought it would overface him (and I). So we went in and flew around the smaller course twice, and he was pretty great. Slightly wild in a couple of spots, but still good.

And then we called it a day. We’d been at it for 2 hours and wanted to end on a good note. She recommended we move down to a lower CT, and at that point, I agreed. XC was pretty much totally unproductive. I kept hoping he would settle down, and that point never came. It was truly one of the worst rides I’ve ever had.

So I looked at moving him down, but then saw that the dressage test was Intro A. Ummm, no. I’m not paying a change fee to do a w/t test. So I decided I would keep him at BN, and just take it 1 step at a time. If dressage warmup went well, we’d do dressage. If SJ warmup went well, we’d do SJ, even though we hadn’t schooled any of those jumps. If that went well, we’d go to XC warmup. Though I did decide that if we made it that far, I’d tell them I was skipping the jumps I didn’t school- particularly #4, #5, and #9.

The clinician thought we should be jumping poles on the ground and I can’t blame her. I’ve never met her before so her only interaction with us was on Saturday, now memorialized as P’s Worst Day Ever. But I also know that we CAN do BN, because 3 days prior we were hopping around Trainer B’s course. P was reacting to the huge, electric atmosphere and that combined with the lack of his usual 12+ hours/day of turnout, he was wild.

So the next morning I went out and lunged him first thing in the morning. Not out of control or to make him run, but he obviously had pent up energy that needed more of a release than hand walking gave him. He was great and quiet, listened well, so I put him away after about 15 minutes. Luckily we had a HUGE field to lunge in, so it wasn’t 15 minutes of circles (which I hate).

Then I went back and got dressed for dressage in the AC, tacked him up for dressage an hour before our ride time of 10:22, and lunged him again. He stayed quiet, did everything I asked, so I got on and we went to warmup.

And he was my usual P. Slightly up and alert, but not crazy or out of control. I let him warm up for a few minutes without asking too much of him, then slowly started to take more of a connection and asked him to soften. And he was great. The clinician came over about 10 minutes in and remarked that even just the look in his eye was incredibly different than it was the day before. She gave me some position tips and then we were up.

It was P’s first time doing dressage where there were multiple rings running simultaneously- 5 to be exact. We went around the outside each direction, and our entry sound was a “squeaky toy.” Just as I was wondering how squeaky it would be while we were trotting down the long side towards A, she squeaked her toy and P spooked. But only for a second, then he came right back and we headed down centerline. In hindsight, I should have circled to give him another few seconds to settle, as our first CL was a bit crooked. But everything else in the test went incredibly well. Our downward transitions still need work, but he listened to everything I asked him to do and for the first time EVER, got an EIGHT on our last halt of all things. Usually we do great on our final CL, then the halt gets all wonky. When we halted, I knew it was good, but since I didn’t see a video, I wasn’t positive it was square. So yay for improvement!

I thought we had scored maybe a 34 or so- BN A has never been our greatest test since the first canter comes up so quickly, then he has to walk shortly after, and we’ve never scored below a 36 for that particular test. So when we got back a 30.8, I was thrilled.

P24P25

Due to the # of BN entries, there was a Jr division, then 3 regular Open divisions, and I was in BN-A. Like 7 people scored in the 20’s, so we were in tenth, but if we had been in BN-B, we would’ve been in second, and if we were in BN-C, we would’ve been in first. If there were no splits, we would have been 12th out of 41. So it was a huge confidence booster, and I definitely have to give credit to Trainer J.

SJ wasn’t until 2:26, so after cooling out P, we went back to the trailer to pack up so we could leave after the show was over,. And P napped.

 

P20

Finally, he’s tired

 

Then I went to walk XC, since I hadn’t seen it the day before. And of course, jump 1 was an oxer with rolltop-ish boxes. Seriously? The clinician told our group to get the horses going right away and going more forward than you think you need. Because for jump 1 you’re going to need it. Dear Lord.

SJSJ1

Like XC, SJ was maxed out, with everything at max height/max width. There were 6 oxers and jump 1 was not inviting at all.

Jump 2 came up very fast.

SJ2

Jump 3 was the widest oxer and was a sharp turn to the right after 2.

SJ3

Jump 4 came off of a longer approach and was towards the in-gate.

SJ4

Jump 5 was an oxer version of 4, and walked in a very forward 5 strides. The clinician recommended going for the 5, because the horses were heading towards the in-gate and would land going forward.

SJ5

Then you landed and made a sharp right turn to the 2 stride combination.

SJ6

Jump 7 came off a short rollback turn. Luckily we’ve been practicing these with Trainer B, so I wasn’t too concerned.

SJ7

Then you had to go around jump 3 and do another rollback to 8.

SJ8

Then ANOTHER rollback to 9.

SJ9

And finally the bending line to 10.

SJ10

So again, we’re at a schooling HT, our first at BN, and everything is maxed out with a pretty technical course. My only real concern was jump 1, so the clinician helped us warmup and put the jump up slightly higher than BN height (since everything else was higher than that anyway), and made the oxer wider. We had a great warmup, with P jumping everything out of stride and I was riding really positively.

It was our turn, so I got him in there turned him left in front of the rolltop-ish jump, then turned him right (not EXACTLY presenting because that’s not allowed), and got him going forward. And I thought it was going to be ok…but no. Refusal. Not unexpected, but he did jump it on the 2nd try, so success, I guess?

Jump 2 was great, 3 was the wide oxer and I felt P hesitate, so I sat back and kicked and he flew over. Jump 4 he was great to, then did a forward 5 strides to jump 5 and it was great then…

P chipped. I didn’t, and I went flying over his shoulder. I was up right away, P was already waiting for me, so we were fine, but it was still disappointing. And uncomfortable. I had sand in all the unmentionable places. But I got back on, went back to warmup and cantered a lap, then went straight for the biggest warmup oxer again. More for me than for P, because what happened was all my fault. I did the 5, and P rarely ever chips. So I leaned up his neck like any good amateur would, and P couldn’t lift his front end off the ground. One hundred percent avoidable if I had sat back and waited.

Here’s the full video:

Super graceful, right?

d422aeb499f7dbb0719c14f0bcfbdc84.gif

Apparently that fence was more trouble than it looked. The girl who went right after me (and was also stalled next to P) fell off at the same fence. There were a few other casualties there as well, and we weren’t the only ones to stop at fence 1. It made me feel slightly better, but not much. Oh well. It is what it is. They said I could still go to XC if I wanted, and I did want to, even though I was still planning on skipping some jumps, but the sand was really unbearable. So I opted to get off and go home. Even though I fell, we ended on a good note back in the warmup, and going around XC with sand in my breeches would’ve done me more harm than good. It was time to call it a weekend.

So. Lessons learned?

  1. If P is going to be stalled, lunging is my friend.
  2. Golf carts are awesome.
  3. Dressage is not our issue. And he CAN halt straight. Also, squeaky toys as entry whistles suck.
  4. Oxers are no longer homes to monsters.
  5. I like hearing our names called out on the loudspeaker when we enter the arena.
  6. I need to get myself some green felt and cover all the things with it at home. That’s obviously a sticking point for P.
  7. I need to get another fly bonnet with some helpful “tips” embroidered on it. Like SIT THE F BACK AND WAIT.
  8. Aquaphor is not just for diaper rashes. It is also a miracle worker for when wet sand gets squished around in your pants.
  9. Most importantly- just because it’s a SCHOOLING show, doesn’t mean its easy. It’s probably harder because they don’t have to follow USEA rules.

So that’s all, folks. P gets today off, then tomorrow we return to our regularly scheduled programming.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “The Upside: It’s Now Husband’s Idea to Get a New Helmet!

  1. Amanda C

    This is how our schooling shows are too. They keep the exact same courses as recognized, they just allow schooling the day before (although if you do that at one of them you have to run HC). So the courses are actually just as big and just as hard, especially since none of those venues are known for having easy courses! I actually like it though, because if you can do well at the schooling shows, you can do well at the recognized shows too. There’s no gap there, like there can be in other areas where the schooling shows are markedly easier. But it does mean you have to be way over prepared for any move up, schooling show or not!

    Like

    Reply
    1. KC Scott Post author

      It’s pretty much the opposite around here. There are some places in Aiken that run both rec and unrec HTs, and will keep the same courses for both, but since they have rec HTs, everything is actually measured for that level. The War Horse HTs (where we were) are strictly schooling, not recognized, and half the jumps were actually too big for BN in either height or width. We’ve schooled lots of BN and N stuff, and this course was more N than BN. The local schooling HTs around here (that don’t run rec at all) are all soft and easy, and are good for young, green horses, so I just assumed this one was like that also. Totally my fault for not doing more research. But ya live, ya learn and we lived to tell about it so it can’t be that bad.

      >

      Like

      Reply
    1. KC Scott Post author

      At least with recognized HTs they have a spot in the omnibus to describe the level of difficulty of the course. Schooling HTs are more you find out when you get there! Ah well.

      >

      Like

      Reply
  2. Emma

    Aw sorry girl 😦 its always hard going to a new venue and not knowing what to expect. My first BN was at a venue that hosts recognized too (loch Moy) and I was very taken aback by the huge atmosphere (300+ horses) and stiff courses. It’s… Intense. It’s gotten easier with repetition tho – esp as I’ve gotten to know each of our local venues!! Also I try to figure out what the stadium jumps are set to when I walk the course so it doesn’t freak me out. It looks like in your photos it’s set to novice but in the video they are a little lower for BN. Definitely helps to know that so its not so imposing going on course!!! Sorry P had a tough weekend and that you came off, but like you say, the pieces are coming together and you guys can make it happen!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. KC Scott Post author

      Thanks, we survived so that’s all that actually matters. I wish this place also ran recognized- then the jumps would’ve been actual BN jumps, and not too big for the level like a bunch of them were. The SJ course in the pictures is set to N, I was one of the first ones to go after they reset the course to BN, so I had to walk it early. Though when I rode to warmup past the arena, I couldn’t even tell anything had been lowered. It all looked pretty much the same! But the SJ course I don’t think would’ve been a problem if I’d rode properly. Some of the XC jumps just made me uneasy because we’ve schooled a lot of BN and N stuff and the approaches + some of those fences that measured too big for recognized BN were just too much. The local schooling HTs are all for green, young horses and that’s what I was expecting.

      >

      Like

      Reply
      1. KC Scott Post author

        We were, but it’s for a series of unrecognized events so different courses. Recognized HTs have to adhere to rules about height/width of obstacles, and unrec doesn’t. They bring in the big guns to design for events like 5 Points and Carolina International.

        >

        Like

      2. emma

        ohhh i gotcha. that’s totally fair. most of the venues in my area only really have one set of jumps for each level, so i usually figure that they’ll use whatever they use for the recognized at my starter events. tho youtube is a serious godsend in that department – i can almost always find a video of the course ahead of entering, like this CHP bn video from 2015 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m306KARz-Ng

        Like

      3. KC Scott Post author

        I did see that before I entered (YT is definitely the best) and that’s one of the reasons I thought BN would be easy. The course in that video is what I expected, the course I walked on Friday was way harder- 2 combinations, uphill and downhill takeoffs/landings, not a lot of room to gallop between jumps. Not withstanding the fact that the jumps now are pretty much all either max BN or technically Novice jumps. To me that wasn’t cool. I almost wish I hadn’t gone on the course walk and seen the measurements because it kind of ate away at me. I wanted to do BN. If I wanted to jump Novice jumps, I would’ve entered Novice! Plus then I could’ve gone to a recognized event and the jumps would actually be BN obstacles and they would’ve looked easy.

        >

        Like

  3. roamingridersite

    Sorry it ended the way it did but you really seemed to hold him together well with all the atmosphere. He sound like a very difficult ride. Your white show shirt with the lace back is gorgeous!

    Like

    Reply
    1. KC Scott Post author

      He is, but he can be so much fun also. And that girl with the lace shirt isn’t me, she was just in our group to walk the course, but I agree- it’s super pretty!

      >

      Like

      Reply
  4. Megan

    Dang. Sorry you had a tough weekend. Sounds like you did get some good stuff out of it though? And yeah, lunging can be your friend at shows if you need to work out some energy. Jumps 2, 3, and 4 though looked great! I have the opposite problem you do, I don’t duck/lean forward at all. Stiff hips and lack of core strength for the win? Doesn’t seem to help me fall off any less though. The unrecognized shows here are also insane. Some are WAY WAY harder then they should be, but yeah, no governing body to keep them at certain guidelines.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Lauren

    Oh man, what a rough start! I find down here that some places stay really relaxed and easy all season for their schooling shows (like Poplar) but that the fancier bigger shows (looking at you Chatt Hills!) definitely up their game as the season goes on. I don’t think they’ve ever gone over max heights and widths though. That would really tick me off.

    Like

    Reply
    1. KC Scott Post author

      It did because I wanted an easy re-entry after having so many months off competing. This was the opposite, but oh well- anything after this should be cake!

      Like

      Reply
  6. Pingback: Next Steps | The Pilgrim Chronicles

Leave a Reply

